Visual Studio debugger

Anne

Visual Studio debugger

Post by Anne »

Hi!
Thank you for Openvibe and the tutorial, it's very useful for me!
I'm a newbie with Visual Studio (I have on my pc Visual Studio 2008), and I have some questions:
- I would like to run the solution (Project.sln) inside Visual Studio, but at the end of the debugging process (with some warnings but no errors), appear me a window of "No Debugging information". I think I have to change under Configuration Properties/Debugging/Command the file associated, but i don't know what to insert.
- in the output appear the warning D9002 : ignoring unknow option '--mms-bitfields', is it important?
- in the output appear the warning consecutively:
LNK4075: ignoring '/INCREMENTAL' due to '/LTCG' specification
LNK4098: defoult lib 'MSVCRT' conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB: library
Are important?

I use winXP.
Thank you in advance :)

Anne

yrenard
Site Admin

Re: Visual Studio debugger

Post by yrenard »

Dear Anne,

thank you for your interest in OpenViBE and welcome on this forum.

Even if using Visual C++ tools to compile OpenViBE, it should not be compiled from the GUI of Visual. You must compile OpenViBE using the win32-build.cmd script. The script that generates the visual projects clearly states the following notice :
IMPORTANT NOTICE:

This script can generate VCProj files in order to help you in the task of debugging some
parts of the code - visual knows what files to load and the projects structure -
This script is _not_ intended to be used in order to actually _build_ the platform
which is 'win32-build.cmd's task. Additionnaly, note that the platform has to be
compiled entirely at least once with 'win32-build.cmd' before thinking of generating
VCProj files.

VCProj files and solutions will go in local-tmp/visual folder.

If you don't understand this notice, you should consider not using this script and
press CTRL+C to abort. Thank you.