Computing alpha power

About the GUI application to design signal processing pipelines
rkamile

Computing alpha power

Post by rkamile »

hello,

I kindly want to ask you help me understand how I can compute alpha amplitude envelope (square root of the power) over 250 samples every second in OpenVibe? Can I do that with sliding window, e.g. every 100ms compute it over the last 250 sample? I read somewhere in the forum that I could use stimulation based epoching toolbox in that case? I am sorry, I am really looking for a step to step guidance, because I don't know so much about EEG signal processing and I am new with OpenVibe. I am working on sound installation. This is the picture of what I have right now:

I have 250 frames per second rate from every channel, and now I am filtering out messages inside the program where I sonify brainwaves, SuperCollider. But I only then use 1 message per second. And I understand it does not give me alpha power, but rather aliasing. Could you please help me? I will be forever grateful!

Best wishes,
Kamile

Thibaut

Re: Computing alpha power

Post by Thibaut »

HI,
You have the time based epoching, he make an epoch of your duration and if the interval is inferior of duration you avec a moving windows as you wan't.
Thibaut
PS : in your image it's better to make channel selector before temporal filter (to avoid apply temporal filter on all channel before selection)

rkamile

Post by rkamile »

Hello Thibaut,

Thank you so much for your reply. I will use the time based epoching! So in my case, it is enough to firstly channel selector, then temporal filter, then time based epoching and then send the data to osc controller? In case to compute alpha amplitude envelope, what epoch duration and interval I should choose, if I have 250frames per second..?

Thank you and sorry for such basic questions.

Best wishes,
Kamile

rkamile

Post by rkamile »