How can I connect gUSBamp to OpenViBE?

Obtaining data from various hardware devices
uskeywest

How can I connect gUSBamp to OpenViBE?

Post by uskeywest »

Hello,
I am a beginner for the OpenViBE. I am currently using gUSBamp but having a connection problem. At the openvibe acquisition server, I could choose "gUSBamp" from the Driver and left Connection port just as 1024 (default). However, tie figher or handball demo did not work and command window was showing "VRPN Error, No responses from server for >= 10 seconds".
Please anyone let me know how the gUSBamp can be connected succefully to the openvibe. Many thanks.

Yoon

lbonnet
Site Admin

Re: How can I connect gUSBamp to OpenViBE?

Post by lbonnet »

Hello Yoon and welcome on board !

To connect you gUSBAmp to OpenViBE, you must:
- plug the amplifier to the PC and turn it on :)
- launch the acquisition server
- Set the acquisition server to "gUSBAmp", the port can remain unchanged (1024)
- Press "connect" to connect the acquisition server to the amplifier then "play" to start reading samples

Then you must check if your device is sending data :
- Launch the OpenViBE Designer
- build a simple scenario with 2 boxes : an acquisition client and a signal display.
- Configure the acquisition client with the address/port of your acquisition server (if the server is running on the same computer, address is localhost)*
- connect the two boxes (Client's "signal" output to Display's "signal" input)
- play the scenario : you should see the raw signal coming from the amplifier

If you need help to use the Designer, you will find useful information on the dedicated section.
Before you try to test more complex applications, such as the tie-fighter scenario, I strongly suggest you to test the OpenViBE designer. Do the tutorials, try some filtering boxes, etc.