Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post Reply
Harag
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:58 pm

Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by Harag »

Hi

I am trying to get openvibe-designer to run in QT Creator (source from github master) but to now avail is the article at http://openvibe.inria.fr/developing-ope ... t-creator/ still accurate or is there something that has changed?

If I use the linux-build script I can run openvibe-designer, but I want to try and debug some stuff so I want to run the designer in QT.

I keep on getting a message that /usr/local/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libopenvibe-kernel.so does not exist but it is in OPENVIBE_ROOT/dist/lib where in QT do I set this correctly. If I just make a symbolic link to the file then I just get more errors about stuff looked for in /usr/local fruther down the line.

Alternatively has some one got a working CMakeLists.txt.user file that I could inspect please?

Regards
Phil

Harag
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by Harag »

Exact message

[ INF ] Created kernel loader, trying to load kernel module
[ FAILED ] Error loading kernel from [/usr/local/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libopenvibe-kernel.so]: /usr/local/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libopenvibe-kernel.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

jtlindgren
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by jtlindgren »

Hi,

I'm not familiar with the QT build, or if/how it works these days, but if it comes to worst you can debug with gdb. This can be done simply as

# ./linux-build --debug
# ../dist/openvibe-designer.sh --debug


Happy hacking,
Jussi

Harag
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by Harag »

Tried that but all I get is a crash and a empty stack trace, I am not a C or C++ coder I am just trying to figure out why the temporal filter is crashing out the designer so I can actually get to use openvibe. I was hoping that using QT I could get a bit more of a visual tool, since I know nothing about C++ coding and all its vagaries. I was hoping to step through code and maybe discover the issue, with the undefined symbol.

I have logged the bug but after a week of waiting I am getting impatient ;)

jtlindgren
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by jtlindgren »

The temporal filter works okay in our automatic tests on Ubuntu 12.03, 13.10, 14.04, and Fedora 19 and 20, and Windows variants. Ubuntu 14.10 is not presently supported.

We have acknowledged to investigate your bug but have no time to look at it immediately. Possibly before the end of the month. It is not a secret we have no great interest in non-LTS versions; [opinion] imo these shouldn't be used for a research environment. Hey, if it was up to me, we'd all be using Debian stable. ;) [/opinion]


Cheers,
J.

Harag
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by Harag »

I understand the restraints you have regarding various versions etc, that is why I am trying to get my self to the point where I could debug and assist where possible. Unfortunately all my other development demands that I keep up with the latest Ubuntu versions.

I am not a C++ programmer but have enough experience in lots of other languages and I think with a bit of help I could get proficient enough to add value to the bug hunting/solving process.

If however you feel that getting bug reports on non LTS versions would be to much of a distraction (and it could well be) I will redirect my efforts else where.

jtlindgren
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by jtlindgren »

It'd be nice to get it fixed of course. In this case it looks like your stuff compiles ok, but then when run-time it tries to load
a plugin depending on ITPP library, the symbol itpp::zeros of that library does not appear to be exported. This'd suggest
there is some inconsistency between itpp headers that are compiled against and its library. Sometimes this kind of
stuff can happen if you have several versions of the library or its headers around, its compiled against one but gets used
against another, runtime.

Rather than using qt creator, I'd use 'strace' with designer to see if the version of the lib it loads corresponds to
the headers it was compiled against.


J.

Harag
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Run in QT Creator - Ubuntu 14.10 - help needed

Post by Harag »

Changing

FIND_LIBRARY(ITPP_LIB1 NAMES ${ITPP_LIB} PATHS ${ITPP_LIBRARY_DIRS} ${ITPP_LIBDIR} NO_DEFAULT_PATH)
to
FIND_LIBRARY(ITPP_LIB1 NAMES ${ITPP_LIB} PATHS ${ITPP_LIBRARY_DIRS} ${ITPP_LIBDIR} )

in FindThirdPartyITPP.cmake fixes the problem.

I will attach a log of my build in the bug report, so that you guys can scan for more of these types of issues.

Thanx for the pointers it eventually got me looking at the right stuff, strace was of no use to me though, it still to much Greek.

Post Reply