install from source

Post Reply
Smieraup
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

install from source

Post by Smieraup »

Hi all,
first of all, I am amazed by the features of OpenVIBE. It's a great tool. (Almost) anything I need :)
I created a custom driver and am facing a problem now:
I want to reinstall openVIBE from the source files and encounter an error when executing the script "win32-install_dependencies.exe".
I always get the following error message when attempting to install the dependencies:

"Download failed: resolving hostname"

I receive this error for any of the download files. There probably is some kind of connection problem, but I have no clue which.
Can anyone help me?

Best Regards,
Chris

jtlindgren
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: install from source

Post by jtlindgren »

This is a bit curious. Might there be a firewall on the way, blocking the .exe somehow? If you open the corresponding .nsi file in a text editor, you should be able to see which URLs it tries to download from. Can you access these locations normally from a browser?

I assume you're trying the 0.15.0 source ?


Cheers,
Jussi

Smieraup
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

Re: install from source

Post by Smieraup »

Hi Jussi,
thank you for the reply. I checked the .nsi file and was able to download the files. Now, trying to build the software, it crashes when not finding the expat.h
I am kind of lost with this.

Code: Select all

 
_______________________________________________________________________________

Configuring and building openvibe-modules\xml\trunc ...

--   FAILED to find expat...
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: C:/openvibe/openvibe-0.15.0-svn3402-src/loc
al-tmp/openvibe-modules/xml/trunc

Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 10.00.30319.01
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

[ 33%] Building CXX object CMakeFiles/OpenViBE-module-XML-dynamic.dir/src/xml/IR
eader.obj
IReader.cpp
C:\openvibe\openvibe-0.15.0-svn3402-src\openvibe-modules\xml\trunc\src\xml\IRead
er.cpp(3) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'expat.h': No such file
 or directory
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1.0\VC\bin\cl.exe' : return code
'0x2'
Stop.
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0
\VC\BIN\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
Stop.
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0
\VC\BIN\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
Stop.

An error occured during building process

Press any key to continue . . . 
However, maybe there is a different solution!?
Is there also a way of adding a new driver to the OpenVIBE version I installed via the Windows installer, since this is running just fine?
I presently have the relevant .cpp .h and .ui files, the skeleton generator created.

Regards,
Chris

jtlindgren
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: install from source

Post by jtlindgren »

The file expat.h should be in dependencies/expat/Source/lib folder on Windows. Is it?

I'm a bit sceptical if a driver can be added without compiling OpenViBE.

Its not clear why the installer doesn't work on your machine. As far as we know, it should work. Do you have access to any other, non-identical computers you could test on?


Happy hacking,
Jussi

Smieraup
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

Re: install from source

Post by Smieraup »

Hi Jussi,
I think I am almost through. There must be something wrong with this computer, I am working on. Thank you for your help!

Now the compiler stops with the following message:

Code: Select all

Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 10.00.30319.01
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

[100%] Built target OpenViBE-acquisition-server-dynamic

Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 10.00.30319.01
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

[100%] Built target OpenViBE-acquisition-server-dynamic
Install the project...
-- Install configuration: "Release"
-- Up-to-date: C:/openvibe-master/openvibe-applications/acquisition-server/trunc
/bin/OpenViBE-acquisition-server-dynamic.exe

_______________________________________________________________________________

Configuring and building ECHO ...

CMake Error: The source directory "C:/openvibe-master/local-tmp/ECHO/ECHO" does
not exist.
Specify --help for usage, or press the help button on the CMake GUI.

An error occured during building process

Press any key to continue . . .
Somewhere, ECHO must be picked up, no idea how. I checked the OpenViBE_build_order.txt. It also has a strange entry now:

Code: Select all

C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe\trunc 
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\id-generator\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\ebml\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\fs\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\socket\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\system\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\stream\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\xml\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-modules\automaton\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-kernel-omk\trunc 
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-toolkit\trunc 
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\acquisition\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\classification\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\classification-gpl\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\feature-extraction\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\file-io\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\samples\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\signal-processing\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\signal-processing-gpl\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\simple-visualisation\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\stimulation\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\stream-codecs\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\streaming\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\tools\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\vrpn\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\designer\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\acquisition-server\trunc   
ECHO is off.
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\plugin-inspector\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\vr-demo\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\vrpn-simulator\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\skeleton-generator\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-applications\ssvep-demo\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\matlab\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-plugins\python\trunc   
C:\openvibe-master\scripts\..\openvibe-scenarios\trunc 

Do you have any idea how to fix this? I am kind of lost and a quite confused :shock:

Cheers,
Chris

jtlindgren
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: INRIA Rennes, FRANCE

Re: install from source

Post by jtlindgren »

By default, the 0.15.0 build (win32-build.cmd) basically reads through the OpenViBE_build_order.txt in a loop and then tries to execute cmake+nmake for each listed directory. Perhaps echo has slipped to the build order .txt, somehow? This file is generated by win32-init_env_command.cmd

If you're feeling adventurous, you could also try the SVN version which has a reworked build system. If you try that, remember to do a fresh checkout to an empty directory. Though, you might still have issues with the dependency install script, as that hasn't changed that much.


Cheers,
Jussi

Smieraup
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

Re: install from source

Post by Smieraup »

Yes!
I finally made it. I cannot really say, what went wrong - partly it was of course the driver, but more generally I had problems, when installing not all of the dependencies at once, so gtk frequently deleted itself during the build process. After some time this error did not occur anymore and after fixing the driver, OpenViBE seems to be running smooth now and I can start digging into peoples' brainwaves :)
Thank you ever so much for your help.
Chris

Post Reply