openvibe compilation

Post Reply
alpidor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:36 am

openvibe compilation

Post by alpidor »

Hello

Yesterday I downloaded the last Openvibe version.
The compilation crashes when compiling some ipp library.

Thanks for any halp,
Gelu

lbonnet
Site Admin
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by lbonnet »

Hi Gelu,
The compilation crashes when compiling some ipp library.
More details are needed at this point...
OS ? Compiler ? is it occurring after an update of your repository or did you fully checkout the SVN ?
Please also post a dump of the console here, in an attached text file or just copy-paste the lines related to the project that crashes.

With that we will surely be able to help you ;)

Laurent-
Follow us on twitter >> openvibebci

Checkout my (old) blog for some OpenViBE tips & tricks : here !

alpidor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:36 am

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by alpidor »

Hello Laurent,

I'm working on Windows Platform.
I did a full checkout of the code.
After installing the dependencies by win32-install_dependencies.exe, and creating the win32-init_env_command.cm (I just copied the provided skeleton) the win32-build.cmd was invoked.

The crash occurs when compiling the OpenViBE-plugins-classification-gpl-dynamic.lib and object Oitpp.lib : unresolved externals

Regards,
Gelu

lbonnet
Site Admin
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by lbonnet »

We recently did a change in the dependencies, but you maybe did not notice it.

When you installed the dependencies with win32-install_dependencies.exe, you could choose between dependencies compiled with Visual Studio 2008 OR Visual Studio 2010.
I think the default value is VS 2008.

If the dependencies, including the failing it++, mismatch your compiler version, the build crashes.
If so, just reinstall the dependencies using win32-install_dependencies.exe with the good compiler.

Hope this will solve your problem...

Laurent
Follow us on twitter >> openvibebci

Checkout my (old) blog for some OpenViBE tips & tricks : here !

alpidor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:36 am

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by alpidor »

On my machine I have installed both Visual 2008 & 2010.
What it means ?
Where can I change something to do it work?
Is there a configuration file that changes the used compiler?

Gelu

lbonnet
Site Admin
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by lbonnet »

The win32-build script will check for the most recent compiler on your computer, here it will be Visual Studio 2010.
Thus, the software will be built with this compiler. When you installed the dependencies, if you used the VS2008 compiled version of the dependencies, there will be a problem.

If you really want to change the compiler used for the build (for example force it to be VS2008) modify the script win32-init_env_command.cmd around line 146, by commenting the VS2010 related part :

Code: Select all

SET VSTOOLS=
SET VSCMake=

if exist "!VS90COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat" (
	SET VSTOOLS=!VS90COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat
	SET VSCMake=Visual Studio 9 2008
)

REM     if exist "!VS100COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat" (
REM          SET VSTOOLS=!VS100COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat
REM          SET VSCMake=Visual Studio 10 2010
REM    )
But the simplest solution is to just run win32-install_dependencies.exe again, and check on the first item of the list "VS2010".
Then re-run the build script.

Laurent-
Follow us on twitter >> openvibebci

Checkout my (old) blog for some OpenViBE tips & tricks : here !

alpidor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:36 am

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by alpidor »

thanks, it works,
Gelu

lbonnet
Site Admin
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by lbonnet »

thanks, it works,
Great !
For the one who will experience the same problem as you did, can you tell us what solution did you chose.
Modify the compiler used in the win32-init_env_command script or reinstalling the dependencies ?

thanks in advance !

Laurent
Follow us on twitter >> openvibebci

Checkout my (old) blog for some OpenViBE tips & tricks : here !

alpidor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:36 am

Re: openvibe compilation

Post by alpidor »

Hello again,


I modified the script win32-init_env_command.cmd around line 146, by commenting the VS2010 related part :

Code:
SET VSTOOLS=
SET VSCMake=

if exist "!VS90COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat" (
SET VSTOOLS=!VS90COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat
SET VSCMake=Visual Studio 9 2008
)

REM if exist "!VS100COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat" (
REM SET VSTOOLS=!VS100COMNTOOLS!\vsvars32.bat
REM SET VSCMake=Visual Studio 10 2010
REM )

Regards,
Gelu

Post Reply