BCI and Machine Learning

About Brain Computer Interfaces, EEG, neurofeedback, related event announcements, jobs, etc.
ilja.kuzovkin

BCI and Machine Learning

Post by ilja.kuzovkin »

I'm a student, who was working with AI techniques and suddenly became interested in BCI field.
And the very next idea was to join BCI and ML.
Surprisingly I was not able to find any practical realizations of this idea... only some theoretical articles...
So, I thought "Hmm, seems I have something to do my bachelor paper about..."

An idea:
1. Put an BCI device on head :)
2. Think "shovel"
3. Get the signal from the BCI and feed it to the Machine Learning algorithm saying "That was the 'shovel'"
4. Repeat step 3 N times
5. Think "right"
6. Get the signal from the BCI and feed it to the Machine Learning algorithm saying "That was 'right'"
7. Repeat step 5 N times
n. End training
n+1. Think "shovel"
n+2. ML algoritm will say: "Hey! I know that signal - it seems like 'shovel'"

Questions
a) How possible it is? I mean how many "shovels" such technique will be able to distinguish?
b) Wasn't is already done like 10 years ago? :)
c) What does "in-field-experienced" people think about this idea in general? ("in-field-experienced" people - looking forward to get answer from you :) )

yrenard
Site Admin

Re: BCI and Machine Learning

Post by yrenard »

Dear ilja.kuzovkin,

thank you for your interest in OpenViBE and welcome on this forum.

Actually, BCI use a lot of machine learning techniques such as classification algorithms and / or knowledge based signal processing. I suggest that you watch the 10 mns video presenting the OpenViBE software and get more BCI background from the very good http://future-bnci.org website.

I hope this helps,
Yann

fabien.lotte

Re: BCI and Machine Learning

Post by fabien.lotte »

Dear ilja.kuzovkin,