recommendations for research material by electrode location?

About Brain Computer Interfaces, EEG, neurofeedback, related event announcements, jobs, etc.
cycon

recommendations for research material by electrode location?

Post by cycon »

Hello all.

I am an experienced developer, looking to get more involved with BCI.

I have access to an Emotiv EPOC headset with ability to access its Raw EEG signals through their SDK, and going by this forum post, will soon be able to tie that together with the OpenViBE software suite.

Unfortunately however, the key Cz, C3, and C4 electrode locations (going by the 10-20 scale) for P300 and right/left/feet motor control are not available on the Emotiv hardware. Instead their hardware provides electrodes in the following 10-20 locations:

AF3, F7, F3, FC5, T7, P7, O1, O2, P8, T8, FC6, F4, F8, AF4

My understanding, based on discussions with Emotiv, is that they designed their headset with as many unique channels of information as possible, at the best price/feature ratio, which would fit the most number of potential users in a one-size-fits-all form factor. This last restraint prevented them from Cz, C3, and C4 because the exact locations from user to user were not consistent enough to be relied upon in a consumer setting (their target market). Locations for an adult would not be the same as an adolescent user, and getting the locations lined up precisely is "too hard" for the casual or non-technical public.

So the question I'm getting at, is what resources and methods can the OpenViBE community recommend for me to search, find, and review research papers and similar published material which will help me to learn what sorts of signals and information I can pull from those specific electrode locations, in order to reproduce and contribute to interesting work in the field of BCI?